My Journal

I love a new journal.  I look for ones with cute designs and lined pages.  I really do not know why I like the lined pages because I tend to jot thoughts or ideas anywhere on the page.  Hmm, I guess that is a little like coloring outside the lines which I always did as a kid.  I mean why in the world do you have an entire sheet of paper crying out for color?  It’s the same way with my journals.  I have an entire sheet of lined paper but the margins need a little touch of something too.  The point is a new journal is full of blank pages just waiting to be written upon.

Last year at our ministers’ wives state convention event, our theme was “Write Your Story.”  We all know we have stories to tell.  Some are funny.  Some are thought provoking.  Some are heartbreaking.  We need to share our stories in order to learn lessons from each other and to be encouraged.  Quite possibly our story could change someone’s life.

When I begin a new journal, I always think about who will read my words when I am gone.  (By the way, I plan to live to be 100 in order to torment my grown sons).  One day I hope that my sons will find all my journals and see how my faith grew over the years.  I want them to understand that life is not always carefree bright sunny days.  Sometimes our life stories develop from dark moments of trial and suffering.

My journal for 2016 will hold some sermon notes and some simple-minded thoughts of a crazy, blonde, chocoholic pastor’s wife.  I am sure one day Stephen and Bryan will open this book and see one of my “profound” silly thoughts and simply shake their heads.  However, I hope that one or two of the stories/prayers/ideas from my current journal or one from the past years will encourage them to write their own stories.

 

Happy New Years girlfriends!  Let’s make each page of the story of our lives count.

Leave a comment

Filed under Getting to Know You

Share your thoughts!