I Need To!

“Mommy!” I heard the call through the open window while the kids were playing outside one afternoon and I was inside washing dishes.

“Yes?” I answered.

“Mommy, I need to plant something!” The passionate exclamation came from my three-year-old son, convinced he was missing out on something because he couldn’t have his hands on growing plants. He’d been inspired lately by some of his sisters’ growing projects for science, and he so desperately wanted his very own project.

I had to laugh at him as we talked through what it was he really wanted and “needed.” But, as I listened to his excitement, I had to confess – sometimes I feel that way, too. Sometimes I just feel as if I need to do something!

I have so many passions, but it seems that there are so many roadblocks to fulfilling those passions. In some situations, I pursue those passions but grow discouraged when I see little return for my effort. Meanwhile, there are other things I try to do because I think I should, but I’m just not so good at them. You know, things that the stereotypical minister’s wife or homeschooler always does. So, frequently I find myself crying out just like my son. I find myself crying out to God to show me how I can serve in line with the way He created me.

And, He does.

What I was created to be and do might not be the things others think I should do, but they are the things I do best. The things that really bring out the passion in me. The things that let me see growth and progress. The things that excite me as much as a gardener watching her sprouts peek through the soil. By doing those things, I am strengthened to also do the things that are expected of me, the ones that don’t come so naturally.

I pray you are in a place where you are already seeing God work through the things you’re passionate about. But, if you’re not there yet, I encourage you to call out. I encourage you to call to God and say, “Lord, I need to do ___________!” Maybe you don’t even know yet what should go in that blank. If so, ask Him to fill in the blank for you! Whatever you do, though, don’t just trudge through your role as a minister’s wife. There will always be things you have to do that are hard for you. Believe me, I know – just initiating conversation with people week in and week out can be overwhelming for me! But, no matter what your church or life situation may be, there is a way for God to use your passions. It may not be in the form that your dreams imagine it to be, but it’s there. Cry out to Him! Ask Him to open those doors! And, wait for the fulfillment to flow.

And, just for the record – Steven got to plant a potato that spring. It wasn’t much, but my sweet son got to take care of it. And, to him, that was a pretty big deal!

Leave a comment

Filed under Being the Minister's Wife, Church Life, Devotional Thought, Encouragement, Family, Minister's Kids, Parenthood

Share your thoughts!