Reflections of a Morning Mist

Photo/KarenJordan“I have swept away your offenses like a cloud, your sins like the morning mist. Return to me, for I have redeemed you” (Is. 44.22 TNIV)

On my walk one morning, a fine mist hovered over the lake. I took several shots of the serene scene with the camera on my phone, because I wanted to remember the moment. Afterward, I sat down on a park bench to contemplate what I sensed God was speaking to my heart.

Search. In searching the scriptures for the word “mist,” and I found this promise in Isaiah 44:22: “I have swept away your offenses like a cloud, your sins like the morning mist ….”

Sometimes I lose sight of what it means to follow Christ. Some people think the price is too great to give up their lifestyle for a religion full of rules and regulations. Others judge Christians as trying to be some sort of modern-day martyrs, who lay down their lives for their faith.

Crisis. During a family crisis once, my son Adam (a teen at the time) said that he didn’t know if he wanted to follow Jesus because of all the problems he had seen in our family and church. He said, ” Since you and Dad started following the Lord, you’ve had nothing but trouble!””

I understood Adam’s frustrations and questions—I’m still challenged in my faith at times. But I reminded Adam (and myself) that we all experience turbulent days, whether we follow Jesus or not. So, I advised him, “I’d rather have Jesus in the boat with me, than be caught alone in the storm without Him.”

Adam agreed.

Sometimes we all get discouraged and want to stop and join the rest of the world. We see people of faith getting discouraged all the time. But if we look at the children of Israel during their wilderness journey, many of them never made it to their promised land of rest because of their unbelief and disobedience. (Heb. 3:16-19)

Focus. Today, I choose to focus on my blessings in Christ–like His forgiveness that sweeps away “my sins like the morning mist.”

What blessing did you focus on today? What came to your mind when you read the promise in Isaiah about forgiveness?

Photo/KarenJordan

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional Thought, Encouragement, Minister's Kids, Parenthood

Share your thoughts!