He is Able!

I love you, O LORD, my strength. The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised, and I am saved from my enemies.

This song from David in Psalm 18 is a song David sang after he defeated Saul and his army. Reading this 50-verse song, we can understand God’s love, guidance, provision, plan, friendship, all-knowingness, strength, abilities…yes, I could go on with all the ways God shows himself in these verses.

No doubt God loved David. He delighted in him. He was chosen by Him to be king! He gave David everything he needed to accomplish the task. He equipped David with strength, made his way clear, made him quick on his feet, provided the means to take on this overwhelming situation of life and death, gave him the shield of His salvation, and supported him with His hand. God gave him a firm foundation with a skid proof pad that he could have the capability to not slip and fall.

David praised God, “They confronted me in the day of my calamity, but the LORD was my support.” He had no doubt that God was with him. He knew God had a plan and was before him. He truly had a heart to serve God. David trusted Him, knowing that he was “the apple of His eye” (chapter 17). David knew that God supplied, was there to guide, and loved him.

He was continually amazed by Almighty God. David praised Him before, during and after the fight. “The LORD lives, and blessed be my rock, and exalted be the God of my salvation.” “For this I will praise you, O LORD, among the nations, and sing to your name.”

Today, God has a plan. He holds you in His hand, and He provides everything you need for life’s battle. The firm foundation, that non-slip pad, under your feet comes from trust and truly believing in God’s abilities. Give Him permission to deal with the situation and allow Him to equip you with the necessities to win the battle in which you are dealing. Let Him handle it, and you will win! Do remember to praise and glorify Him before, during and after the battle! That means always.:-) (Hope you will read Psalm 19 and take in all that David says.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional Thought

Share your thoughts!