Freedom

This post by Elizabeth Skinner was originally published on the former Arkansas Baptist Ministers’ Wives blog on September 7, 2011. It seems to be a timely reminder right now as we wrap up another summer.

Our college Sunday School class has just wrapped up for the summer and I’ve sent “my” kids off for another year of educational advancement. What a proud feeling it is to know that our church is being represented by missionaries on college campuses. Oh wait, did I say proud? Maybe I meant terrifying or worrisome…

This is the first time some of these adults have the option of attending church. They have to make their own decisions on how to dress and whether or not to smoke weed. (Yep, I just said weed in a pastor’s wife encouragement forum.) They dealt with all of this on a minor level in high school but now no one can tell them what to do or look over their shoulder at curfew every night. Only grades in the end will tell the story. Right now, though, the sentiment is the same from the freshmen to the seniors, and it goes something like this, “I am free from the oppressiveness of home where I am accountable to someone other than myself!”

Do you remember the feeling of freedom? Was your moment of freedom all that you wanted it to be? Did it feel in the end as you anticipated it would in the beginning? Rarely does worldly freedom result in as great a feeling as the anticipation of it promises. We learn quickly that this kind of freedom has consequences.

So often I neglect the knowledge that I have freedom, true freedom, in Christ. The kind of freedom where the actual experience even exceeds the anticipation felt. I get so wrapped up in needing to do this or that; living in the fish bowl; trying to be the best wife, mom, attorney, church member, etc. that I forget I am not trapped in these places or by these circumstances. I am free. He set me free. I am free to love Him and sing His praises every moment of every day. I am free to serve others as He has called, not as the world might see fit.

I pray for you this week that you will take a moment to reflect on our freedom in Christ. That even as you feel trapped in your circumstance you will know freedom in Him. Just as this heavenly fall weather has descended upon us and invigorated our flesh allow Christ and the knowledge of His freedom to revitalize your soul.

Oh and please don’t forget to pray for the young missionaries our churches have sent out over the past few weeks! They are so easily forgotten when out of sight.

Elizabeth Skinner is a full-time lawyer and wife to Andrew, bi-vocational Pastor of Discipleship at First Stuttgart. They have two children, Kathryn and Nathan.

Leave a comment

Filed under Church Life

Share your thoughts!