A Random Reminder

This post by Susie Thompson was originally published on the former Arkansas Ministers’ Wives blog on April 8, 2010.

Returning home from a Praise Team mission trip to Debrecen, Hungary, the Lord hit me in the face with one of the lessons He had been teaching our team. We had seen His Faithfulness and His Grace in, through, and IN SPITE OF us! There is something amazing about worshiping with the Nations, as well as having some see, for the first time, how believing in and worshiping Jesus is truly life changing! The book of James led us to be aware of our tongues – both what should NOT come out of our mouths, and what SHOULD! We were constantly aware of the fact that we were being watched in EVERYTHING we did. You’ve been there – you ARE there! We had amazing boldness and freedom in literally every activity, every day!

Arriving at the airport to board our first flight home, a man grew very frustrated with the size of our group and where we were standing – we were in his way at the check-in counter, and he let us know that. I can’t explain the anger that grew in me, and the things that wanted to roll off of my tongue! In God’s humor, this man ended up on the same flight, still very agitated with us. In fact, he ended up sitting right behind me, right beside one of our group who was unaware of what had previously taken place. I was handing out gum to several around me, and all of a sudden God pricked my heart – you know how that goes – and I knew I had to do it. ‘Really, Lord?’ After all, this man literally glared at me as I took my seat, he intentionally hit one of our team with his jacket as he was stowing away his bag. But, yes, it was obvious what I had to do – and, I actually listened this time…….I turned around and offered him a piece of gum. He paused, looked at me, looked down, then back up in my eyes and said, “Yes, I would – thank you very much.” He then proceeded to ask our team member sitting next to him about our group and our purpose. His attitude immediately changed for the rest of the trip – as did mine.

Ministry Wives, many times you and I are the ones who feel the brunt of people’s anger – especially when it’s focused on our husbands, and most especially when God is at work! However, we are also blessed to see firsthand the most amazing transformations in lives because of Jesus. It seems to me in ministry that sometimes our husbands are “in the way” of this person’s agenda, or that person’s motivations. Though I don’t believe any of us should allow people to truly abuse us, let us never forget that the most random act of kindness in the middle of a stressful situation can soothe, and can open the door for Jesus to be lifted up! God reminded me to keep my tongue “in check,” to always be aware of who needs Jesus around me, and to always be willing to step outside my comfort zone with boldness in order to allow HIM to be seen! I pray God works “in spite of” you in a way this week that forces you to depend on Him even more and to share Him boldly – we are where God placed us for nothing less than this!

Susie Thompson is wife to Jeff and mother to their two sons Hunter and Tyler.   She loves worship, she plays and sings, loves to read, and mostly just loves being with her family.

1 Comment

Filed under Being the Minister's Wife, Church Life, Devotional Thought

One response to “A Random Reminder

  1. What a great principle to put into practice! It’s hard to be nice to someone who is so rude, isn’t it? But isn’t that just like God–to prompt us to do what’s outside of our comfort zone. What an example of obedience, too! Nice article, Susie!

Share your thoughts!