A Gift of Beauty

As she cut hair with precision, conversations were of family, friends and church. She was a very unique woman who had raised three boys as a single mom. To be able to take care of her sons and work, she had converted her side porch into a beauty shop. Walking in the screened door, there were always two to three clients she would be working on at a time. Her clientèle never tired of waiting because they knew when they left the shop, they would look and feel more beautiful.

As she washed my hair that day, we talked of community events and church life. Being a beautician in a small town, she practically knew everyone and everything that took place around the area. No matter what the subject, she always gave an affirmative nod as to say, “I know.” Our conversation led to a deep concern for a young lady that had been attending my SS class. The young lady’s family was struggling financially, and on the Sunday before she mentioned to me her desire for a make-over for an upcoming job interview. I wanted to somehow help her receive a boost of confidence as she searched for a new job.

As I told my beautician, LaVaun, about her and the idea of a metamorphosis, she stopped combing my hair, came around and looked me in the face and said, “You’re are a wonderful pastor’s wife. I love how you observe people needs. Thanks for being real and approachable.” I smiled back and with apprehensiveness said, “Thank you”. I felt complimented but realized I was being observed. I was once again reminded that as a minister’s wife’s every movement can be watched and every word taken to heart. In ministry life, the fear of being “real” can cause missed ministry opportunities and block impacting and seeing a life changed. I didn’t want to allow that to happen this time.

As LaVaun continued to style my hair, she and I began to arrange for my new friend’s makeover. My heart filled with excitement as this caring beautician offered to cut the cost in half and be ministry partner in this endeavor. LaVaun promised to keep our secret and make a gift certificate that could be given to her from my SS class. In the days that followed this young woman received a well paying job, continued to attend church, and began to reflect not only the outward beauty but the beauty that comes from knowing a Savior. This wasn’t about helping her show outward beauty, it was about meeting her at her point of need. As a minister’s wife, I pray my words and actions can be “real”, see other’s needs and in the process direct others to the “real” and only true God, Jesus.

Leave a comment

Filed under Being the Minister's Wife, Church Life, Ministry

Share your thoughts!